Home / HOST





  • MASUM establishment began in 1974 at the initiative of university sport authorities at the time to hold for sports competition among university staff. This idea was the beginning of the development of sports competition among local universities and the following year 1975, sports among university students was held.
  • In 1981, the Federation of Universities in Malaysia (GUM) was initiated by Deputy Vice Chancellors, Student Affairs and Alumni of Public Institutions of Higher Learning (IPTA) at that time. Before the establishment of GUM, all sporting activities are conducted by the IPTAs on ad-hoc basis among the IPTAs.
  • In 1983, the change of name from GUM to MASUIPTIM was initiated indicating the collaboration between the University Sports Council and the Institutes of Higher Learning Malaysia (MASUIPTIM). However, in 1985, MASUIPTIM was renamed as the MASUM (Malaysian University Sports Council).



“Providing Excellent Athletes Continuously to compete At International event”



“Towards Excellence and Glory of Sports University”


Council Members

  • Universiti Malaya (UM)
  • Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)
  • Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)
  • Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
  • Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
  • Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM)
  • Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)
  • Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia (UIAM)
  • Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris (UPSI)
  • Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)
  • Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS)
  • Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM)
  • Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)
  • Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT)
  • Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM)
  • Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP)
  • Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
  • Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA)
  • Universiti Pertahanan Nasional Malaysia (UPNM)
  • Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (UMK)